King Fahad Medical City

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

State of the art Medical Imaging

Project Description

RAD-Planning was asked to come to Saudi Arabia to develop designs for a new MRI center for the flagship hospital of the Saudi Ministry of Health. The project involved converting an existing materials storage area into a suite that could accommodate up to six MRI scanners, and adhere to international best practices for physical environment safety, including the four-zone model and perhaps the first use of ferromagnetic detection in the Kingdom.

 

The MRI project required very close coordination with adjacent works for the construction of KFMC’s new cancer center, as the infrastructure for the new building had the potential to disrupt the performance of the MRI scanners. In coordinating with the designers and contractors for the adjacent cancer center, RAD-Planning was asked to also evaluate the designs of the imaging and radiation therapy rooms.

 

Those evaluations identified design omissions which could have significantly compromised safety, and locations where changes in technology had not triggered required changes in the suite design and building preparation.

 

The MRI project delivered an MRI suite that is capable of handling patients with nearly any clinical needs (including ICU patients), and that is upgradable over time to grow from four to as many as six MRI scanners sharing common patient support spaces. The shielding review caught errors in the coordination between medical physicists and design engineers, improved the building safety, and improved the landmark new building’s ability to accept the most advanced imaging and therapy equipment.

Project Details

Client:

King Fahad Medical City

Project Type:

MRI Suite Development and Radiation Therapy Shielding Review

Contractor

DAR Construction

RAD full wording logo.png

مدينة الملك فهد الطبية

الرياض، المملكة العربية السعودية

وحدة تصوير طبي على أحدث طراز

وصف المشروع


طلب أحد المستشفيات الرائدة، التابع لوزارة الصحة السعودية، من RAD-Planning الحضور إلى المملكة العربية السعودية لوضع تصميمات مركزه الجديد للتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. وتضمنت أعمال المشروع تحويل إحدى المساحات المخصصة للتخزين إلى جناح يستوعب حتى ست وحدات للتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي، مع الالتزام بأفضل الممارسات الدولية المتعلقة بسلامة البيئة الطبيعية، بما في ذلك: نموذج النطاقات الأربعة، واستخدام نظام الكشف عن المواد القابلة الممغنطة، الذي ربما يُستخدم لأول مرة في المملكة.

 

تطلب المشروع تعاونًا وثيقًا مع الأعمال المجاورة الخاصة بإنشاء مركز السرطان الجديد التابع لمدينة الملك فهد الطبية، إذ قد تتسبب البنية التحتية لهذا المركز في التأثير سلبًا على أداء ماسحات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. وخلال التنسيق مع المصممين والمتعاقدين على أعمال مركز السرطان المجاور، طلبوا من RAD-Planning أن تقيِّم أيضًا تصميمات غرف التصوير والعلاج الإشعاعي.

 

وقد اكتشفت هذه التقييمات بعض أوجه القصور في التصميم التي قد تؤثر سلبًا على إجراءات السلامة، وكذلك حددت بعض المواضع التي لم تحدث فيها التغييرات التكنولوجية النتائج المطلوبة في تصميم الجناح وتجهيزات المبنى.

 

اكتمل مشروع جناح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي، وأصبح قادرًا على تلبية جميع احتياجات المرضى الإكلينيكية تقريبًا (بما في ذلك مرضى وحدة الرعاية المركزة)، إضافة إلى ما يتمتع به من إمكانية التطوير ليستوعب ست ماسحات تتشارك في المساحات المخصصة لتقديم خدمات المساعدة للمرضى.  وأدت مراجعة التدريع إلى معالجة أخطاء التنسيق بين اختصاصي الفيزياء الطبية ومهندسي التصميم، وتحسين سلامة المبنى، وتحسين قدرته على استقبال أحدث معدات التصوير والعلاج.

--

تفاصيل المشروع

العميل:

مدينة الملك فهد الطبية

نوع المشروع:

تطوير جناح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي ومراجعة تدريع وحدة العلاج الإشعاعي.

المتعاقد

دار كونستركشن

RAD full wording logo.png